Hawaii Food Handler Law
The Hawaii Department of Health has updated is Chapter 50 of the Food Safety Code and the 2013 FDA Model Food Code has been adopted.
Background and Summary
On September 2, 2017, the Hawaii Department of Health (DOH) began implementation of the new Rules for Food Establishments. The new Rules for Food Establishments were revised to be more closely aligned with the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) 2013 Model Food Code.
When do the new rules go into effect?
The new food safety rules became effective in Hawaii on September 2, 2017.
What types of establishments are affected by the new rules?
The new regulation applies to all food establishments for which Hawaii DOH has oversight such as restaurants, snack bars, catering operations, ice cream parlors, school cafeterias, licensed healthcare facilities, temporary food establishments, andmobile food establishments.
What are the new rules?
The new rules contain several changes affecting food operators in the state. This document contains a summary of key changes that may affect operators and their establishments.
Full Adoption of the 2013 FDA Model Food Code
- Full adoption of the 2013 FDA Model Food Code to include regulations governing reduced oxygen packaging.
- A new mandate for Food Handlers Education certification for persons-in-charge at all food establishments. At least one employee on every work shift must be certified by a formal Food Handlers Training certification.DOH will accept certification recognized by the American National Standards Institute. Proof of certification will be required during health inspections after Sept. 2, 2018. DOH will allow the industry one year to comply with this new provision.
- Health inspectors may post placards during all types of inspections, including those for general complaints, and may post a “CLOSED” red placard at food establishments operating without a valid permit.
- DOH may refuse permit renewals for food establishments with unpaid fines or stipulated agreements more than 30 days overdue.
- DOH approval will be required prior to the sale of all “Wild Harvested Mushrooms.”
- Special Event Temporary Food Establishment permits will be restricted to 31 days at a time. Consecutive permits may be allowed. Permit fees will remain at $100 for a 20-day permit with an additional $5 fee for each day over 20 days.
- The section of the rules for Mobile Food Establishments has been removed and these regulations will be incorporated into the general regulations for all food establishments. All Mobile Food Establishments are required to access a state approved facility to support their food operations safely.