My Cart

Your Cart Is Empty.

Illinois Mandatory Reporter Training

Illinois Mandatory Reporter Training
Certificate Valid For: 3 years
Approximate Time: 2 hours
Compatible On: Computers, tablets, and smartphones.
Available Languages: English
Price: $19.95

The purpose of this online course is to help all Illinois Mandated Reporters understand their critical role in protecting children by recognizing and reporting child abuse.

Everyone who suspects child abuse or neglect should call the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services Hotline to make a report, but Mandated Reporters are required by law to do so, with penalties for failure to do so ranging from fines and/or potential jail time

In the state of Illinois, Mandatory Reporting laws are very strict and professionals are required by law to report Illinois Statute Stat. Ch. 325, § 5/4 which states that any person, agency, organization, or entity that knows or in good faith suspects child abuse or neglect shall make a report. For purposes of this section, ‘person’ shall include, but not be limited to: physicians, residents, interns, hospital administrators and personnel, surgeons, dentists, dental hygienists, osteopaths, chiropractors, podiatric physicians, physician assistants, or substance abuse treatment personnel, funeral home directors or employees, or medical examiners, emergency medical technicians, acupuncturists, or crisis line or hotline personnel, school personnel, including administrators and employees, educational advocates, or truant officers, personnel of institutions of higher education, members of a school board or the Chicago board of education, members of the governing body of a private school, social workers, social services administrators, or domestic violence program personnel, nurses, genetic counselors, respiratory care practitioners, advanced practice nurses, or home health aides, directors or staff assistants of nursery schools or child care centers, recreational or athletic program or facility personnel, early intervention providers, as defined in the early intervention services system act, law enforcement officers or probation officers, licensed professional counselors, psychologists, psychiatrists, or their assistants, field personnel of the departments of healthcare and family services, juvenile justice, public health, human services, corrections, human rights, or children and family services, supervisors and administrators of general assistance under the Illinois public aid code, animal control officers or department of agriculture bureau of animal health and welfare field investigators, foster parents, homemakers, or child care workers, members of the clergy and commercial film and photographic professionals or computer technicians. 

Illinois Statute Ch. 325, § 5/4 outlines that he names of reporters shall be entered into the record of the report but shall be held confidential. The name of the reporter may not be released to any person other than employees of the Department of Children and Family Services responsible for child protective services, the central abuse hotline, law enforcement, the child protection team, or appropriate State attorney, without the written consent of the reporter.

TAP Series' Mandatory Reporter course is quick, simple, and low cost. There is no need to gather a group or go to a classroom. The self-paced course allows you to train on your schedule from home or the office and on a PC, tablet, or mobile phone and quickly annually re-enroll. TAP Series' Mandatory Reporter course meets Illinois Statute Ch. 325, § 5/4 regulations.

This Training Includes:

  1. 60-90 minutes of self-paced interactive training
  2. A post-training assessment
  3. A Certificate of Completion

Learning Outcomes:

  • Identify who is a Mandatory Reporter
  • Understand your role as a Mandatory Reporter
  • Identifying caregivers
  • Understand how to report
  • Define and identify the signs and symptoms of various types of child abuse